Image default

Two Greeks Elected Vice-Presidents of the European Parliament

Greek lawmakers European ParliamentEva Kaili was elected as vice-president of the European Parliament. Credit: Facebook/Eva Kaili

Two Greek lawmakers were elected vice-presidents of the European Parliament in a vote that took place on Tuesday.

Eva Kaili, of the Movement for Change (KINAL) party, was elected for the first time in this prestigious post and will join Dimitris Papadimoulis of SYRIZA who was re-elected for the same post.

The European Parliament which has 14 vice-presidents, is one of three legislative branches of the European Union and one of its seven institutions. Together with the Council of the European Union, it adopts European legislation, commonly on the proposal of the European Commission. The Parliament is composed of 705 members.

Grecian Delight supports Greece

Συγχαρητήρια @EvaKaili για την εκλογή σου! Για πρώτη φορά από το 2014 το Κίνημά μας θα έχει Αντιπρόεδρο του Ευρωπαϊκού Κοινοβουλίου. Καλή επιτυχία στα νέα σου καθήκοντα!

— Nikos Androulakis (@androulakisnick) January 18, 2022

Kaili, is a former television news presenter who has been serving as a Member of the European Parliament since 2014. She was one of the “Women who Shape Brussels” and the “Tech MEPs gang” as the “leading MEPs addressing the digital revolution” by Politico Europe in 2018.

In the 2004 national elections, she was the youngest candidate standing. In the 2007 national elections, she was elected as a member of the Hellenic Parliament for the first district of Thessaloniki. At the time, she was the youngest Member of Parliament with the PASOK party. She retained her seat in the 2009 national elections until 2012.

PapadimoulisDimitris Papadimoulis was re-elected vice-president. Credit: Dimitris Papadimoulis

Papadimoulis, whose candidacy was proposed by The Left group of MEP’s, got 492 votes out of 658. Papadimoulis, 66, has been an MEP since July 2014 and also served between 2004-9. He was a deputy to the Greek Parliament from 2009-14.

“I warmly thank the MEPs who honored me again with their confidence, with a large majority, from a wide political spectrum,” Papadimoulis said.

“I am particularly pleased because two of the 14 vice presidents are from Greece. I congratulate Eva Kaili for her election and I look forward to constructive cooperation for the good of our country. For the next 2.5 years, I will continue to represent in the Bureau of the European Parliament both the European Left and, of course, my homeland Greece. For a stronger European Parliament. For a more united, democratic, social and ecological Europe. With more transparency, democracy and solidarity and less inequality,” he added.

Maltese Roberta Metsola elected president of the European Parliament

Maltese center-right MEP Roberta Metsola was elected president of the European Parliament, after the untimely death of David Sassoli earlier in January.

Metsola won 458 votes in the first round of balloting, easily capturing the needed majority after the Parliament’s major groups agreed ahead of time to back the 43-year-old politician.

“With humbleness, I feel honored by this responsibility with which you are entrusting me,” Metsola told MEPs in her inaugural speech from the president’s seat. “I promise you that I will work and do my utmost to work on behalf of this Parliament and for the benefit of all EU citizens.”

Related posts

Spectacular Ancient Mosaic Discovered in Paphos, Cyprus


LA Greek Film Festival Calls for Entries; Announces 2022 Dates


New Metro Line in Athens Hailed as “Biggest Project in Greece”


Greece Has Second-Highest Number of Smokers in EU


Was Greek Fishing Helped or Hindered by Pandemic?


Greek Football Star Dazzles Turkish Crowd with Zeibekiko Dance


Fact or Fiction? Hunting for the Real Locations Behind Greek Myths


The Best Ancient Greece Comedies Still Funny Today


Coronavirus Cases Surge in Greece with 2,353 on Tuesday